SEARCH AMARISAFLORIA

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Caught by the Cover


Top Ten Tuesdays is a feature created by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish. If you want to share your own lists in the future, the prompts can be found on their page! You can also find my previous lists by searching the label "top ten tuesday" :)

Today is all about covers, and I'll be sharing the books I chose to read based on 'em. Yup, I judge books by their cover ... but don't we all sometimes? Most of these are from EARLY in the days when I first started reading young adult again. I choose my books a lot differently now — I'd say 95% of why I choose to read something is due to its summary OR positive reviews from bloggers I trust. I know it's not realistic to read every single book that catches my eye!


The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry
Those galaxy colors and lettering have me doing the heart eyes! I didn't have any plans to read this one last year, but the cover sucked me in. Emily Henry writes so beautifully, and I totally get why people love THE LOVE THAT SPLIT THE WORLD. Magical realism is tough for me to enjoy though, so it didn't blow me away. But I think it's worth the read if you like the combination of that and contemporary romance.

Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan
I love the usage of twigs for the title. But I have mixed feelings for this story. I'm having a hard time coming up with why, maybe it's because I wanted more? It felt bland :/

The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry
I'm not drawn to covers like this anymore, and I can't recommend this one because I don't remember anything about it ... I think I'm still bitter over the fact that this book didn't take place during the summer, lol.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira
I *really* liked space/sky/sunset colors on my covers three years ago. So much that I would read a book fully knowing I didn't like something it was compared to. (AKA THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER.) Coming-of-age stories just don't work for me *one-tear emoji*

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
LOVE THE COVER, LOVE THE BOOK EVEN MORE. My first Rainbow Rowell book (and favorite of hers so far!) Isn't it great when a book is just as good as the cover suggests?


Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
Really fun for younger readers who want to get into YA! This is another one I'm not that into anymore, but I think it matches the story. It has an older feel and classic design.

Mind Games by Kiersten White
Y'all, I read this book (and 70% of this list) such a long time ago that I'm struggling to tell you how I felt about it. My memory is so bad ... but I know I liked it! *Reads review from three years ago* It was fast-paced, and I loved the characters. The way MIND GAMES was written is really unique — you're given different perspectives from different people on different days, so it's a little bit confusing in the beginning. But it becomes clearer the more you get into it, which made me want to keep reading!

A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
I wish there was more that happened in A WICKED THING. Aurora (aka Sleeping Beauty) wakes up from true love's kiss and ends up spending the majority of this book locked in her room. It probably picks up in book two, but I don't want to be disappointed ...

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Now this is a story that was given the cover it deserves! I love the adventure that plays out in THE CONSPIRACY OF US, especially because our main character travels all around the world. I haven't seen a lot of bloggers talk about this one, so pick it up if you like The Da Vinci Code.

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Here we go with the sky covers again, I am so predictable! But this is one I still really like. I love the contrast of her red hair against the blue background. THESE BROKEN STARS is the first in a three-book companion series, and I am definitely continuing on. Perfect for fans of The 100 and ILLUMINAE.

What are some books you chose to read because of their covers, and was it worth it?

No comments

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...